Russia Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.8
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.8
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  5.0
 Total  4.5

"Comfortable, homey stay"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Lynda H. of San Francisco, CA, United States
Reviewed:   July 2, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Russiainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The family that runs this hostel make it a comfortable, welcoming place to stay. We had a private double with a hardy breakfast. Among eggs and other food, there was a homemade sweet bread that was one of the best things I ate on our Trans-Mongolian Rail trip from Moscow to Beijing. I wish I had the recipe.

The kitchen is very small so that is a downside but the surrounding garden is lovely to sit and have tea. The family at At Svetlana's has friendly pets and while we were there a family with two small children were thoroughly enjoying their stay.

The location is not the best, but it's not far from the tram with easy access into town and we were met at the train station to find our way to the hostel. They were also sure that we were able to get a taxi for our very early departure for the train station and even offered to prepare breakfast for us (which we declined - it was much too early).

Overall, a pleasant stay.

"Great stay in Ulan-Ude"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Bertrand G. of Toulouse, France
Reviewed:   June 19, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
very nice hostel to stay with all facilities. People from Hostel were very helpful and talked good english. They even picked us at the trainstation. Included awesome breakfast. Great city to visit along the transiberian railway.

"A great place to stay in Ulan Ude!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Katherine P. of Glen Carbon, United States
Reviewed:   May 15, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
"At Svetlana's" was a wonderful place to stay! The hostel is in a house that is run by a local family, who live next door. The rooms are spacious and warm - especially important for the winter! A room in the hostel also includes a delicous home-cooked Russian breakfast. The best part of this hostel is the family that runs it. They were incredibly nice and friendly. The son showed us around the city for several hours. And when the electricity went out unexpectedly one night, the family came over with candles and played traditional Buryat music for us. Overall, it was a wonderful experience!

"Friendly, Catering Staff At Svetlana's"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Omar M. of Binghamton, NY, United States
Reviewed:   January 16, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great staff! Made breakfast every morning that we stayed at the hostel. Picked us up at the train station at 6:00 in the morning. Only problem is that the shower was in the hallway, but you can work around this. Clean hostel, spacious. There is internet but you need to get the staff to set it up for you before you use it.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




RussiaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us